138. The Trial of Casey Anthony Part 1 of 6 — White Lies, Blue Eyes

She was dubbed the most hated mother in America. But did Casey Anthony get away with murder?

Sources:

Sponsors:

Butcher Box: butcherbox.com/PROSECUTE for a free grilling bundle

Tivic Health Clear Up: tivichealth.com promo code: prosecutors22

Final Days on Earth Podcast

Progressive Insurance

Call Me Curious Podcast

PlutoTV

137. The Ghost Ship Orang Medan — Flying Dutchman

Ships respond to a distress call from another vessel only to find everyone on board dead. Or did they?

The Dutch Translations:

English Newspaper story from 1940

Resources:

Sponsors:

  • Faherty: fahertybrand.com/tp code: TP for 20% off
  • Upside: Download the app and use promo code prosecute for $5 or more cash back
  • Hello Fresh: hellofresh.com/tp16 code: tp16
  • The Jordan Harbinger Show
  • Tivic ClearUp: tivichealth.com promo code prosecutors22
  • Progressive Insurance
  • PlutoTV
  • Final Days on Earth Podcast

Legal Briefs 03. The Lawyer Dog

Did a man really miss out on a lawyer because he asked for a “lawyer, dog” instead of just asking for a “lawyer”? And we read an insightful email on the Dammion Heard case. For more on the need to clearly invoke your right to a lawyer, read Davis v. United States, which held:

We decline petitioner’s invitation to extend Edwards and require law enforcement officers to cease questioning immediately upon the making of an ambiguous or equivocal reference to an attorney… [W]e held in Miranda that a suspect is entitled to the assistance of counsel during custodial interrogation even though the Constitution does not provide for such assistance. We held in Edwards that, if the suspect invokes the right to counsel at any time, the police must immediately cease questioning him until an attorney is present. But we are unwilling to create a third layer of prophylaxis to prevent police questioning when the suspect might want a lawyer. Unless the suspect actually requests an attorney, questioning may continue.

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/03-the-lawyer-dog/id1627291687?i=1000566791830

136. The Murder of Maggie Long — Have You Talked to the Man Upstairs?

Seventeen-year-old Maggie Long was the light of her community, but that light was snuffed out in what may have been a hate crime. Or was something else going on?

Resources:

Sponsors:

Progressive Insurance

Credit Karma: creditkarma.com/loanoffers

June’s Journey

Tivic ClearUp: tivichealth.com promo code: prosecutors22

The Jordan Harbinger Show: jordanharbinger.com/subscribe

Final Days on Earth Podcast

134. The Disappearance of Daniel Robinson Part 1 of 2 — The Painted Desert

A promising young geologist disappears into the Arizona desert. Where is Daniel Robinson?

Daniel is described as a 5’8 black man, weighing 165 pounds with black hair, brown eyes and is missing part of his right forearm, including his hand. A $10,000 reward is being offered by Daniel’s family for information that can bring him home. If you have any information, go to pleasehelpfinddaniel.com or call a tip line at 844-602-0660.

Resources:

Sponsors:

Butcher Box: butcherbox.com/PROSECUTE for a free grilling bundle

Progressive Insurance

Final Days on Earth

133. The Death of Dammion Heard Part 3

We conclude, for real this time, our look at the death of Dammion Heard.

From the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: We can all help prevent suicide. The Lifeline provides 24/7, free and confidential support for people in distress, prevention and crisis resources for you or your loved ones, and best practices for professionals in the United States. 1-800-273-8255.

Sponsors:

Progressive Insurance

The Jordan Harbinger Show

Final Days on Earth Podcast

PlutoTV

131. The Death of Dammion Heard Part 1 of 3 — Colorado Cool-Aid

A popular, seemingly happy young college student is found dead, hanging from jumper cables. Was it suicide? Or murder?

Resources:

Sponsors:
Progressive Insurance
PlutoTV
Faherty Brand http://www.fahertybrand.com/tp for 20 percent off
Better Help http://www.betterhelp.com/prosecutors for 10 percent off
Murdah Ink Podcast